Yuzhnoye State Design Office was founded in 1954 based on a design department of Yuzhny Machine-Building Plant.

The first missile developed by Yuzhnoye was the R-12 (SS-4), the most mass-produced medium-range missile in the Soviet Strategic Rocket Forces. Four missile complex generations in all were created, with liquid-propellant and solid-propellant strategic missiles of different kinds of deployment: from the first medium-range missile to orbital and intercontinental missiles with multiple reentry vehicles and penetration aids. With the collapse of the Soviet Union, development of strategic missile systems was terminated.

The missile complex development significantly increased the scientific and technical potential of Yuzhnoye and cooperating companies, which offered scope for pursuing peaceful space exploration. Yuzhnoye developed and put into service space launch systems such as Kosmos, Cyclone-2, and Cyclone-3, with launch vehicles converted from in-house designed missiles. These launch vehicles were widely used in the Soviet and first international space programs.

Commissioned in 1985, the Yuzhnoye’s environmentally friendly Zenit launch vehicle with a fully automated unmanned launch played an important role in the development of the Soviet rocket technology. This rocket became one of the best launch vehicles in the world. A cluster of four Zenit first stages was used as a boost stage of the Energia-Buran space transportation system.

To support Earth and space exploration, Yuzhnoye developed more than sixty types of spacecraft and automatic orbital stations to perform space research, Earth remote sensing, and defense functions. A lot of research was made possible thanks to Yuzhnoye-designed standard satellite buses, which allowed using a set of support systems, satellite structure, and onboard equipment control circuit irrespective of a scientific mission at hand.

Development of new missiles called forth the development of respective propulsion in- house. In the late 1950s, a propulsion design bureau was formed within Yuzhnoye to develop liquid-propellant engines. Starting from the 1970s, Yuzhnoye and Yuzhmash, which then included Pavlograd mechanical plant, successfully began producing solid-propellant rocket motors. To date, they have developed about 50 types of mature rocket motors.

In 1991, when Ukraine gained independence, the country created its own aerospace industry with the National Space Agency at the head. The primary objectives of the industry include implementation of national space programs and big space projects in close cooperation with the international space community.

In the period of transition from the leading Soviet rocket-production organization to a company of the independent Ukraine, Yuzhnoye developed and manufactured a number of products for different sectors of the economy: production prototypes of passenger transport (buses and trolley-buses), conforming to world standards, wind-electric installations of different capacity, etc.

However, the main area of Yuzhnoye’s business is space technology. Yuzhnoye is the main actor in the national space programs. On Yuzhnoye’s credit side is the development and launch of Sich series remote sensing satellites.

The company was successful in entering the world’s launch services market. For example, the upgraded Zenit launch vehicle became the rocket segment of international programs Sea Launch, where it is operated from the equatorial launch site in the Pacific, and Land Launch, where it lifts off from Baikonur Cosmodrome.

By upgrading decommissioned missiles, Yuzhnoye and its partners from International Space Company Kostmotras developed a conversion light-weight three-stage Dnepr launch vehicle used for peaceful purposes to launch spacecraft operated by various countries.

Within the framework of cooperation with Egypt, Yuzhnoye designed and orbited the EgyptSat-1 satellite and trained Egyptian personnel, to whom they transferred control over the satellite.

In 2000s, Yuzhnoye started developing components for other than in-house designed launch vehicles. E.g., a Yuzhnoye-developed and Yuzhmash-produced liquid-propellant rocket engine is used in the fourth stage of the European VEGA launch vehicle operated from Kourou Space Center. Yuzhnoye developed and Yuzhmash produces the Stage 1 Core Structure for the Antares launch vehicle made by Orbital Sciences Corporation of the United States.

 

UP

КБ «Южное» было образовано в 1954 году на базе конструкторского отдела Южного машиностроительного завода.

Первой разработкой КБ «Южное» стала ракета Р-12 (SS-4) – самая массовая ракета средней дальности в ракетных войсках стратегического назначения СССР. Всего было создано четыре поколения ракетных комплексов различных видов базирования со стратегическими жидкостными и твердотопливными ракетами – от первых ракет средней дальности до орбитальных и межконтинентальных с разделяющимися головными частями и средствами преодоления противоракетной обороны. Однако, с распадом СССР работы по созданию ракетных комплексов стратегического назначения были прекращены.

В процессе создания боевых комплексов существенно возрос научно-технический потенциал КБ «Южное» и его кооперации, что открыло возможности осуществлять деятельность в ракетно-космическом направлении. КБ «Южное» разработало и сдало в эксплуатацию ракетно-космические комплексы «Космос», «Циклон-2» и «Циклон-3» с конверсионными ракетами-носителями на базе своих боевых ракет. Эти ракеты-носители широко использовались в советских и первых международных космических программах.

Важную роль в развитии советской ракетной техники сыграла созданная КБ «Южное» экологически чистая ракета-носитель «Зенит» с безлюдным автоматизированным стартом, сданная в эксплуатацию в 1985 году. Эта ракета стала одной из лучших ракет-носителей в мире. Связка из четырех первых ступеней носителя была использована как разгонная ступень космической системы «Энергия-Буран».

Для обеспечения исследований космоса и Земли КБ «Южное» разработало свыше шестидесяти типов космических аппаратов и автоматических орбитальных станций, выполнявших исследования космического пространства, дистанционное зондирование поверхности Земли, решение задач в интересах обороны страны. Проведение большого количества исследований стало возможным благодаря разработке КБ «Южное» унифицированных спутниковых платформ, что позволяло использовать комплекс обеспечивающих систем, конструкции аппарата и схемы управления бортовой аппаратурой независимо от конкретной научной задачи.

При создании новых ракет возникла необходимость в разработке двигателей для ракет предприятия. В конце 1950-х годов в составе КБ «Южное» было образовано конструкторское бюро ракетных двигателей, которое занялось разработкой жидкостных двигателей, а начиная с 1970-х годов КБ «Южное» и «Южмаш» успешно занялись созданием твердотопливных двигателей.  Сегодня на их счету около 50 типов совершенных ракетных двигателей.

В 1991 году, когда Украина обрела статуса независимого государства, была сформирована собственная ракетно-космическая отрасль во главе с Национальным космическим агентством. Ее главные задачи – выполнение национальных космических программ и реализация крупных ракетно-космических проектов в тесном сотрудничестве с международным космическим сообществом.

В переходный период от головной организации в ракетостроительной отрасли Советского Союза к предприятию независимой Украины КБ «Южное» выполнило ряд разработок для различных отраслей экономики: были разработаны соответствующие мировому уровню и изготовлены опытные образцы пассажирского транспорта (автобусы и троллейбусы), ветроэлектрические агрегаты разной мощности и т.д.

Но главной задачей КБ «Южное» остается деятельность в ракетно-космической сфере. КБ «Южное» является основным исполнителем национальных космических программ. В его активе разработка и запуск космических аппаратов дистанционного зондирования земли серии «Сич».

Предприятие успешно вышло на международный рынок пусковых услуг. Так, усовершенствованная ракета-носитель «Зенит» стала ракетной составляющей международных программ «Морской старт» с запусками из экваториальной зоны мирового океана и «Наземный старт» с запусками с казахстанского космодрома Байконур.

В результате доработки боевых ракет, снимаемых с эксплуатации, КБ «Южное» совместно с партнерами по международной компании «Космотрас» была создана конверсионная легкая трехступенчатая ракета-носитель «Днепр», которая используется в мирных целях для запуска космических аппаратов различных стран мира.

В рамках международного сотрудничества предприятия по контракту с Египтом был разработан и выведен на орбиту космический аппарат «Египсат-1», обучен египетский персонал, которому была передано управление спутником.

В 2000-годах на предприятии стали разрабатывать ракетные системы не только для собственных ракет. Так, разработанный КБ «Южное» и изготовленный на ЮМЗ жидкостный ракетный двигатель применяется как маршевый на четвертой ступени европейской ракеты-носителя «Вега», пуски которой осуществляются с космодрома «Куру». Для американской ракеты «Антарес» КБ «Южное» разработало, а ЮМЗ изготавливает конструкцию первой ступени.