Development of the first missile generation was the most difficult and important task. The young design bureau created world’s unparalleled missile designs. It was the breakthrough in the missile technology, which made the Soviet Union competitive under the mounting threat of the Cold War.

In 1953, the Main Research Institute (NII-88) sent research materials concerning a “high-boiling” missile to Vasiliy Budnik, Chief Designer of the design department at Dnepropetrovsk Factory #586. According to NII-88’s estimates, the missile carrying a warhead with a trotyl-based explosive could have a firing range similar to that of the R-5 missile. These research materials were used for development of the original draft design of the R-12 missile prototype.

In 1954, Special Design Bureau (SDB-586, or OKB-586) was established based on the design department of Factory #586 to implement the design project. Mikhail Yangel was appointed OKB-586’s Chief Designer. It was Yangel who was at the head of further development of the R-12 missile.

All the Design Bureau departments, Factory, and research institutes worked intensively on the R-12 development. On June 22, 1957, the first missile was successfully launched under the flight-development test program.

The success of the first OKB-586’s development, the R-12 missile, lent support to the validity of the selected field of work.

The Design Bureau started the development of the R-14 missile with the range twice as much as that of the R-12. The missile featured a new propellant, unsymmetrical dimethylhydrazine, or UDMH. An important quality of the new propellant pair was spontaneous ignition, or hyperbolicity, of the propellant components. The R-14 missile was the first to use a gyrostabilized platform in the autonomous inertial control system, which allowed reducing instrumental errors and increased firing accuracy. In June 1960, the first R-14 missile was launched under the flight-development test program.

In August 1957, the Soviet Union successfully launched the first intercontinental ballistic missile. It was the R-7 ICBM designed by Korolev’s OKB-1 and burning kerosene and liquid oxygen. This launch did not diminish interest in the work done by OKB-586, tasked with the design of an ICBM operating on storable high-boiling-point propellants: the R-16.

The missile was designed in record-breaking time. On October 24, 1960, the preparation for the first launch of the R-16 missile under the flight-development test program ended in catastrophe: a defect in the control system cable network resulted in a premature start-up of the second stage sustainer engine, leading to the missile destruction on the launch pad.

All possible defect-eliminating actions were taken. In February 1961, the first successful launch of the R-16 missile was conducted. Later this ICBM, like all first-generation missiles, was put in service.

The work on the first-generation missiles proved that the course to develop missiles operating on high-boiling components was right. The Soviet Army added three missile complexes to its inventory.

UP

Работа над первым поколением ракет была самой сложной и ответственной. Молодым конструкторским бюро создавались проекты ракет, не имевших аналогов в мире, это был прорыв в ракетной технике, который сделал СССР конкурентоспособным в нарастающей «холодной войне».

В 1953 г. Головной НИИ отрасли (НИИ-88) направляет Главному конструктору конструкторского отдела завода №586 в Днепропетровске В.С. Буднику материалы НИР по ракете на высококипящих компонентах топлива. По оценкам НИИ-88 такая ракета с головной частью, снаряженной взрывчатым веществом на основе тротила, могла иметь дальность полета, аналогичную ракете Р-5. Эти материалы были использованы при разработке первоначального эскизного проекта прототипа ракеты Р-12.

Для реализации проекта на базе конструкторского отдела завода №586 в 1954 г. было образовано Особое конструкторское бюро (ОКБ-586). Главным конструктором ОКБ-586 был назначен М.К. Янгель, который и возглавил дальнейшую разработку ракеты Р-12. Работы велись интенсивно, были подключены все подразделения КБ, завод и научные институты. 22 июня 1957 г. был проведен первый успешный пуск ракеты по программе летно-конструкторских испытаний.

Успех первой разработки ОКБ-586 – ракета Р-12, подтвердил правильность выбранного направления работ.

Началась разработка ракеты Р-14 с дальностью вдвое большей, чем у ракеты Р-12. Особенностью ракеты было применение нового топлива НДМГ. Важным качеством новой топливной пары было самовоспламенение компонентов. На ракете Р-14 была впервые применена гиростабилизированая платформа для автономной инерциальной системы управления, позволившая снизить инструментальные ошибки системы управления и обеспечить более высокую точность стрельбы. В июне 1960 г. был произведен первый пуск по программе летно-конструкторских испытаний.  

В августе 1957 г. в СССР состоялся первый в мире успешный пуск межконтинентальной баллистической ракеты. Это была межконтинентальная баллистическая ракета (МБР) Р-7 разработки ОКБ-1 С.П. Королева на топливных компонентах: керосин и жидкий кислород. Однако это не уменьшило интереса к работам ОКБ-586, которому было поручено разработать проект МБР на высококипящих долгохранимых компонентах то­плива. Такой ракетой стала Р-16.

Проект был разработан в рекордные сроки. 24 октября 1960 г. проводилась подготовка к первому пуску ракеты Р-16  по программе летно-конструкторских испытаний, которая закончилась катастрофой (в результате схемной ошибки в системе управления произошел несанкционированный запуск двигателей II ступени, приведший к взрыву ракеты на старте).

Были приняты все меры по устранению недостатков. В феврале 1961 г. состоялся первый успешный пуск ракеты Р-16. В дальнейшем она, как и все ракеты первого поколения, была принята на вооружение.

Ракеты первого поколения доказали, что ориентация на разработку ракет на высококипящих компонентах топлива была верной. Советская армия получила на вооружение три типа ракетных комплексов.